Past events
{{ time.start_TS | TS2dateFormat('DD') }}
{{ time.start_TS | TS2dateFormat('MMM') }}
{{ time.start_TS | TS2dateFormat('YYYY') }}

German Non-Fiction Prize – The Award Ceremony.

Which title will be non-fiction book of the year for 2022? On 30 May 2022 at 6pm, the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels will award the second German Non-Fiction Prize at the Humboldt Forum. The jury selecting the winning title comprises seven experts from the fields of non-fiction criticism, journalism, science, culture and the book trade. The prize will be awarded to an outstanding German-language work of non-fiction that promotes social debate.

Only on the evening of the award ceremony at the Humboldt Forum will the eight nominees find out who the winner of the German Non-Fiction Prize is.

The evaluation criteria are: the relevance of the topic, the narrative power of the text and the quality of the research.

The aim of the German Non-Fiction Prize is to promote awareness of non-fiction as a basis for the dissemination of knowledge and the formation of substantiated opinions, as well as a barometer of, and catalyst for, public discourse.

The award ceremony is a closed event, but you can follow the live stream to see who wins this year’s German Non-Fiction Prize!

Hosted by: Katja Gasser


Prize fund

The German Non-Fiction Prize awards a total prize fund of €42,500. The winner will be awarded €25,000, with the seven nominees each receiving €2,500.


Selection process

Publishers from Germany, Austria and Switzerland may submit up to two German-language non-fiction books from their current or forthcoming lists. The jury reviews all books submitted that meet the entry criteria and, if necessary, requests any additional titles it deems eligible.

The non-fiction book of the year is chosen in two selection stages. The jury compiles an eight-title list of nominees, which it announces around World Book Day in April. The jurors select the non-fiction book of the year from this shortlist, announcing their decision in May.


Patron of the German Non-Fiction Prize is Minister of State for Culture Claudia Roth. The main sponsor of the Prize is the Deutsche Bank Stiftung, and the award is supported/promoted by the Stiftung Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss.



Live stream
The eight shortlisted titles for the German Non-Fiction Prize 2022



Belongs to

Deutscher Sachbuchpreis 2022

An event of the Stiftung Buchkultur und Leseförderung des Börsenvereins des Deutschen Buchhandels in cooperation with the Stiftung Humboldt Forum im Berliner Schloss.